|Home | Contact|
|Car Insurance News | State DMV Information | Tips and Advice | Health Insurance | Life Insurance | Personal Insurance|
|"No Pushy Sales People!"®|
Mississippi Auto Insurance Requirements
So what is the Mandatory Auto Insurance Law?
Mississippi requires all drivers, whether in Jackson, Gulfport, Biloxi or Haittiesburg to have an auto insurance policy with at least the following minimum limits.
Liability Coverage (mandatory):
$25,000 per person, for bodily injury,
Proof of Insurance
Mississippi drivers must carry proof of auto insurance in the car at all times in case you get stopped my law enforcement. The penalty for not having proof is $1,000 and can also subject you to suspension of your drivers license for one year or until you can provide proof that your car is insured.
Where can I find a licensed Mississippi Auto Insurance Company?
You will find a "Quote Now" box at the top of this page to help you find, first, who has the lowest price on auto insurance in Mississippi.† By simply completing this one application we will check through 15 auto insurance companies at once, and confidentially display to you the 4 cheapest quotes on auto insurance in Mississippi. We guarantee your information is secure and will never be shared with anyone else!
How and Where Can I Register my Auto (and other FAQs):
For a typical automobile (weighing less than 10,000 pounds), register the vehicle and receive your license plate from your local county Tax Collector's office. You will need to register the vehicle in the county where the vehicle is owned, or where it is parked (garaged) overnight.
If you have further questions or are still unsure what to do, you may contact the Motor Vehicle Licensing Bureau (MVLB) at (601) 923-7100 and speak with a customer service representative.
How to Find the Best Auto Insurance Rates in Mississippi?
It is very important to shop†for the best coverage in Mississippi at the lowest price. Let's face it, Mississippi auto insurance is not cheap. But there are many online resources that†provide free quotes from†licensed Mississippi insurance companies approved by the Mississippi MVLB. If you think you may be paying too much for auto insurance, Mississippi residents can save time and money by comparing car insurance quotes quickly and anonymously between all the top name auto insurance carriers simply by logging on to InstantCarInsurance.com.
Remember, the State of Mississippi requires†minimum car insurance limits of 25/50/25 as long as you have a valid Mississippi auto registration.†Keep this in mind when shopping for basic coverage and evaluate it against car insurance quotes with higher coverage limits for a little more money. Cheap car insurance is not always the best car insurance.
Mississippi recommends the following tips to lower your auto insurance bill:
Shopping for Automobile Insurance
Gather information you'll need before you begin to shop. Keep in mind that the cheapest deal isn't always the best deal. Real "value" is achieved by finding the right (affordable) price for you, with the most coverage, from a carrier that gives quality service.
Answer all questions truthfully and correctly. Check to see what discounts can save you money. Make sure the premium charge quotes you get are for the same term and coverage. For example, not all companies will offer the same options and deductibles. Decide what you need before shopping.
For parents of teen-aged drivers: If your teenagers donít own cars, name them on your policy as occasional operators of your least expensive cars. They may be named as an occasional driver if they donít drive to and from school or work. If they do own cars, cover them under your policy. This would also qualify you (and them) for a multi-car discount. It is important that you report actual driving habits to the company. But beware, itís not uncommon for auto insurance companies to have juveniles automatically assigned to your most expensive car on the policy.
Check into discounts for a driverís ed course or good academic record. If the young driver goes to school more than 150 miles away (without a car) another discount may apply.
Young singles on their own: Avoid high performance or "turbo cars." A turbo engine can add more than 15 percent to your premium.
Older people: Take a defensive-driving course thatís approved by the State Board of Education or National Safety Council. You may earn a 5 to 15 percent discount off your premium.
Ask About Discounts
Ask your agent or company if you are eligible for any other discounts. Here are some discounts you should ask about:
One last tip: Shop, and shop often!† Why?† Most people do not realize that insurance companies change rates constantly and typically repost new rates twice monthly.† Thus we strongly recommend returning to re-rate your cars on the 1st and the 16th of each month just to be sure you are still getting the best deal and the rock-bottom, lowest, cheapest price you can for auto insurance!† Why not?† Itís free.
Instant Car Insurance Quotes Online From Multiple Insurance Carriers!
Contact Us |
Site Map |
Other online services offered by Ensurance.com
Health Insurance, Individual Health Insurance, Group Health Insurance, Life Rater, Business Insurance, Homeowners Insurance,
Contractors Insurance, Workers Comp Insurance, Earthquake Insurance
Copyright © 2011-2014 Ensurance.com, LLC. All rights reserved