Under Alabama law, you’re required to have auto insurance liability limits of at least 20/40/10. What does this mean? It means:
$20,000 per person, for bodily injury you cause
$40,000 per accident, for bodily injury, and
$10,000 per accident, for damage to another’s property
Proof of Insurance
If you’re stopped by a law enforcement officer, you must present an insurance identification card showing that the auto is insured. Your auto insurance company must provide you with an identification card when they issue or renew your auto insurance liability policy. At your request, the company will provide a card or temporary proof of insurance for each auto covered under your policy and if you purchase your insurance from InstantCarInsurance.com or Ensurance.com you can also print your ID cards online instantly and for free.
The insurance identification card includes the name of the insurance company, the policy number, and the policy’s effective and expiration dates. It also includes a description of the insured car(s) and/or the name of the insured driver.
If you do not carry proof of insurance and you are stopped by law enforcement, the state of Alabama considers it a traffic infraction. You can receive a fine and it may go on your driving record. The courts could also add other unwanted fees to your fine so always keep a current (up to date) proof of insurance id in the car with you at all times.
Alabama Auto Insurance Requirements